Databases of Literary Criticism - J. Werner - English 102 (and ENG 102 H) Fall 24 - Harold L. Drimmer Library Research Guides at Westchester Community College Library

Databases

Literature Resource Center is an extensive database which includes:

Full-text scholarly articles from more than 360 academic journals and literary magazines
Reviews of books of all sorts, from children's literature to adult fiction, from popular non-fiction to scholarly studies
Biographical essays on more than 130,000 authors
Full text of thousands of poems and short stories published in contemporary journals and magazines
Overview essays on thousands of books and literary topics
Links to quality research oriented websites on authors and their works including pictures and audio interviews

MagillOnLiterature Plus
is the premier literary database, combining MagillOnLiterature and MagillOnAuthors. This database includes all the literary works, reviewed critical analyses and brief plot summaries that are included in MagillOnLiterature, as well as all the biographies and author essays included in MagillOnAuthors.
MLA International Bibliography
Access to the Modern Language Association's index of critical scholarship on literature, language, linguistics and folklore.
JSTOR
Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in economics, literature, history, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title.

more...
Humanities Source
EBSCO. Includes feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, and much more. Indexing and abstracts, and access to over 1400 full text journals. Coverage dating back to 1900.

Literature Resource Center opens on the BASIC search which allows you to limit your search by:

Person (by or about)
Name of the work (poem, play, novel, film, etc.)
Keyword (searches significant fields such as title, introductory text, and author)
All text (searches entire text of all documents)