NoodleTools is a web-based service that guides you throughout the research process: citation, in-text citation, note taking, outlining. Register for NoodleTools on campus to authenticate your account automatically.
Below are databases that are especially useful for basic research. The full list of databases, organized by subject can be found at this link: https://library.sunywcc.edu/c.php?g=20326&p=117241
See the Explore Careers tab above for search suggestions on career research.
If you need help, ask a Librarian.
The following databases are good sources for background information.
Search for documentaries, films, new programs and other media using Films on Demand and Alexander Street.
WCC Library subscribes to a wide range of databases. You must be a current student, staff, or faculty member to use these databases. (See the Work Off-Campus tab above.) You may view a complete listing of the library's databases or click on the links on the left to search databases that are recommended for your assignment.
Remember to apply the Search Strategies outlined under the Search Strategy tab. Do not type in whole sentences.
Enter your keywords in the search boxes. Before running your search, check the FULL TEXT box under Limit your results to get the full articles. When you are looking for Academic Journal articles, you can check the PEER REVIEWED Box. Some databases will give you mostly Peer Reviewed articles and some, like Academic Search Complete will give you a mix of magazine, newspaper and peer reviewed articles.
The articles will be labeled by the type of source they are: Peer Reviewed/Academic Journal, Periodical (magazine articles), News (newspaper articles), you will also find book reviews, conference papers and other sources that are not useful for this assignment.
You can limit the source types to only Peer Reviewed (aka Scholary, Academic, Professional articles) by clicking the Peer Review box just under the search box at the top of the screen. You can also refine your results by clicking ALL FILTERS and limiting to Peer Reviewed or specific source types such as Newspapers or Magazines and then APPLY your selections.
Note that while the majority of articles in Academic Journals are peer reviewed , you can also find book reviews, editorials and other resources.
