Search the databases using the keywords and keyword phrases based on your topic. See the Your Assignment tab for suggestions on how to develop keywords from your topic and search most effectively.
This assignment requires at least 1 peer reviewed article. Not all articles in the databases are peer-reviewed/academic/scholarly articles. See the How to Read a Scholarly Article tab for more information on how to determine if an article is peer-reviewed, how to limit your search to peer-reviewed articles only and how to effectively read a peer-reviewed article.
Below are databases that are especially useful for this assignment. See the Search Strategy - Using Keywords tab for effective search techniques
If you need help, ask a Librarian.
The EBSCO platform, which covers the majority of the library databases and some of our ebook vendors, allows users to bookmark resources in their MyEBSCO account, making it easier to organize their research while keeping their inboxes clear.
Click on the MyEBSCO icon in the top right corner > SIGN INTO MY EBSCO
Use your WCC credentials to log in.
It will not display your name or ID when you are logged in, but will show "Log out of MyEBSCO" at the bottom
You Dashboard will appear on the left hand column. Your saved items will be under the SAVED icon,
To save a record to your MyEBSCO account, click the bookmark icon by the record.
Results page:
Article record page:
You can save Records (individual sources like articles or ebook links) or Searches. Click on the appropriate tab to view your saved items. The resources will be listed chronologically. Sign into your MyEBSCO account on any device to access your saved items.
Don't forget to sign out of MyEBSCO when using a shared device.
WCC Library subscribes to a wide range of databases. You must be a current student, staff, or faculty member to use these databases. (See the Work Off-Campus tab above.) You may view a complete listing of the library's databases or click on the links on the left to search databases that are recommended for your assignment.
Remember to use your Keywords outlined under the Your Assignment tab. Do not type in whole sentences.
Enter your keywords in the search boxes. Before running your search, check the FULL TEXT box under Limit your results to get the full articles. Check the PEER REVIEWED box to limit to Peer Reviewed articles only. You will need at least one Peer-Reviewed article for Assignment #1. Some databases will give you mostly Peer Reviewed articles and some, like Academic Search Complete, will give you a mix of magazine, newspaper and peer reviewed articles.
The articles will be labeled by the type of source they are: Peer Reviewed/Academic Journal, Periodical (magazine articles), News (newspaper articles), you will also find book reviews, conference papers and other sources that are not useful for this assignment.
You can limit the source types to only Peer Reviewed (aka Scholary, Academic, Professional articles) by clicking the Peer Review box just under the search box at the top of the screen. You can also refine your results after your search by clicking ALL FILTERS and limiting to Peer Reviewed or specific source types such as Newspapers or Magazines and then APPLY your selections.
Note that while the majority of articles in Academic Journals are peer reviewed , you can also find book reviews, editorials and other resources.
Read the Abstract of the article to see if it is interesting. The first few sentences will appear below the article information. Click on SHOW MORE to see the rest of the Abstract or Summary. Click on the TOOLS icon (three vertical dots) in to the right of the article title for citation, email and other sharing options.
Under TOOLS you can select CITE to get an APA formatted citation or then Export to Noodle Tools. Under SHARE you can email the article to yourself or find the permalink to post in your course shell or share with your professor or a librarian. Download will give you the full-text of the article if it is available. A PDF link will also appear under the abstract.
\
