Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Insects: Their Natural History and Diversity / Stephen Marshall
Call Number: Circulating Collection QL473 .M33 2017
Publication Date: 2017
A comprehensive guide covering insect orders and families with color photographs showing typical behaviors and key characteristics. The index includes guidance on observing, collecting, and photographing insects and discusses declining habitats and threats to biodiversity.
The Butterflies of North America / James A. Scott
Call Number: Circulating Collection QL548 .S38 1986
Publication Date: 1992
Covers butterfly biology and ecology, including structure, flight, metamorphosis, hibernation, physiology, roosting, migration, mating, egg-laying, social behavior, larval and adult foods, enemies, mimicry, variation, evolution, habitats, distribution, and conservation. Includes a bibliography and an index of all common and scientific butterfly names.
Smithsonian Handbook of Interesting Insects / Blanca Huertas by
Call Number: QL466 .B76 2020 ON ORDER
Publication Date: 2020
Stunning photographic profiles of a selection of insects held by London's Natural History Museum. Photo captions describe the bug's lifestyle, distribution, size, and key characteristics. The introduction explains the different orders and families found in the insect classes and an explanation of how they have evolved.
Firefly Encyclopedia of Insects and Spiders / Christopher O'Toole (Editor)
Call Number: QL462.3 .F57 2002
Publication Date: 2002
Covers all families of the million-plus species of insects and spiders. Includes information on insect and spider biology and behavior with illustrations, and color photographs. Each entry provides essential data: scientific order, population distribution, habitat size and color, reproduction, life cycle, and longevity conservation status.
Encyclopedia of Insects / Vincent H. Resh (Editor)
Call Number: QL462.3 .E485 2009
Publication Date: 2009
Covers all aspects of insect anatomy, physiology, evolution, behavior, reproduction, ecology, and disease, as well as issues of exploitation, conservation, and management