Literary Analysis and Criticism - Professor Maroney - English 102 - Spring 2024 - Harold L. Drimmer Library Research Guides at Westchester Community College Library

What is literary criticism?

An interpretation of a literary work or body of work that is debatable.
A conversation with the written text.
An analysis and explication of literary work(s) using literary concepts (theories, devices, etc.)
A thesis that presents and arguable perspective of a literary work.

Learn about literary analysis

Recommended Databases

MLA International Bibliography with FT This link opens in a new window
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Biography, bibliography, and synopses of criticism of authors and their works, in all fields. Includes references and links to the original sources.
Gale EBooks This link opens in a new window
A collection of full-text encyclopedias and handbooks on a variety of subjects.
LitFinder This link opens in a new window
LitFinder covers all time periods and contains a wealth of primary literature content. This includes approximately 140,000 full-text poems, 800,000 poem citations and excerpts, 7,100 full-text short stories and novels, 3,800 full-text essays, 2,000 full-text speeches and 1,700 full-text plays. It also includes biographies, work summaries, photographs and a glossary.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.

Learn about literary theories

Introduction to Modern Literary Theory
This guide offers definitions, key terms, and suggested websites.
more...less...
Dr. Kristi Siegel (Associate Professor, English Dept. Mount Mary College, WI)
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy

Professor Maroney - English 102 - Spring 2024: Literary Analysis and Criticism