Suggested databases and web sources - Prof. Czarnecki - COR121 - Fall '23 - Harold L. Drimmer Library Research Guides at Westchester Community College Library

Resources - Library Databases (Available in our WCC Database Collection)

Ethnic News Watch This link opens in a new window
Newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. With titles dating from 1990.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Films on Demand is a streaming video platform offering a robust collection of streaming videos for educational use. In addition to a core collection of content from educational video producer Films Media Group, Films on Demand streams content from a growing list of quality documentary sources. For help in using some of the more advanced features of this product, such as building playlists and sharing, contact a librarian.
New York Times, The (1980-present) This link opens in a new window
Full text from 1980 - present.
Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new window
Covers current social issues. Includes viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Includes Full-text articles from 360 journals dating as far back as 1972 and indexing for more than 750 periodicals, over 510 of which are peer-reviewed. Topics include Addiction Studies, Anthropology, Communications, Economics, Ethics, Family Studies, Gender Studies, International Relations, Law, Mass Media, Minority Studies, Political Science, Psychology, Public Welfare, Social Work and Urban Studies.
SocIndex This link opens in a new window
The world's most comprehensive sociology research database. More than 2,066,400 records with subject headings from a 19,750+ term sociological thesaurus. Also contains informative abstracts for more than 1,200 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as 1895.

Web sources

Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS)

BJS provides extensive statistics and research on various aspects of the criminal justice system, including corrections and parole.

Federal Bureau of Prisons (BOP)

The BOP website offers information on federal prisons, inmate search, and resources related to corrections

National Institute of Corrections (NIC)

NIC is a valuable resource for research and training in the field of corrections. They provide publications, webinars, and information on best practices.

U.S. Probation and Pretrial Services System

This site offers information about the federal probation and pretrial services, which are closely related to parole and community supervision.

U.S. Sentencing Commission

This commission provides sentencing guidelines and related research, which can be relevant to parole decisions and policies.

Congressional Research Service (CRS)

CRS produces reports for Congress on various topics, including corrections and parole. These reports can be informative for in-depth research.

Prof. Czarnecki - COR121 - Fall '23

Resources - Library Databases (Available in our WCC Database Collection)

Web sources

Celebrating 75 Years of Excellence!