Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What is a Databse?
Databases are electronic catalogs that contain published information in the form of citations, abstracts, or the full text of documents. These documents can be from magazines, newspapers, scholarly, academic journals, ebooks, book chapters or essays. Some databases cover multiple subjects, while others are specific to a certain field. They are indexed by subject terms or keywords for easy retrieval.
Develop a Search Strategy
Use keywords and synonyms:
- Start by taking keywords directly from your thesis statement.
- Use synonyms and related concepts by thinking of other words that mean the same thing as the keywords in your question.
- Look at the subject terms in your search results and see if you can use any of those.
You can broaden your search results by typing an asterisk symbol * at end of the root of a word. When you do this, the computer will search for alternative endings for the word you have typed.
For example compet* yields results for:
compete competed competes competition competitive
Build a Search Strategy with your Keywords
Search Strategy Builder - An online tool from the University of Arizona that will help you organize your keywords into a search strategy
America: History and Life with Full Text
Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for over 1,700 journals from 1955 to present, also provides full-text coverage of more than 230 journals and nearly 100 books.
Archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
Academic Search Complete
A general database covering many areas of academic study. Find articles from over 7,000 full-text periodicals and abstracts from more than 11,000 additional journals.
More than 14,000 titles, including more than 9,000 peer-reviewed journals and more than 6,000 in full text. Coverage of hard sciences, medicine, engineering and business. Full text for periodicals covered in major bibliographic resources such as CINAHL, BIOSIS, MLS, PsycInfo, ERIC, EconLit, RILM and others.
Ethnic News Watch
Newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. With titles dating from 1990.
New York Times Historical, The (1851-5 years ago)
Digital archive offers full-text and full-image articles dating back to the 19th Century. Coverage from 1851 to 2009.
Collections of museum images and associated data for educational use. Includes slide and demonstration tools for research and teaching purposes.