Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Getting Started wtih these databases
The Databases below provide background information on a variety of topics.
The Reference Databases (listed on the left) provide biographical information about people (along with their accomplishments). They also provide overviews on specific social issues or events.
The databases on the right our current event issues databases. They will provide background information as well as debates on these issues from a variety of authors
Reference Databases for Background Information
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Full-text dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles.
Gale EBooks This link opens in a new window
A collection of full-text encyclopedias and handbooks on a variety of subjects.
What can you gain from background research?
- Words or phrases that are specific to your topic.
- Major ideas related to your topic
- People places, time periods that are relevant to your topic
- Additional readings on your topic
- Information thats answers basic information on your topic (the who, the what, the where, the when)
Databases and online resouces to help focus your research question
The following database is an excellent place to browse for a topic and begin your research. Log-in when off campus using your MyWCC username and password.
Covers current social issues. Includes viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.