Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Prof. Rubenstein - English 102 - Spring 2021: Citing and Plagiarism

Intellectual property

The products of your own original work are your Intellectual Property. This includes writing, artwork, fiction, photographs, etc.

To demonstrate respect for others' intellectual property, you must give credit where it is due.

Respect the intellectual property of others - authors, artists, creators, producers - by paraphrasing and citing your sources.

Definitions

Intellectual Property is the products of your own original work. This includes writing, artwork, fiction, photographs, etc. To demonstrate respect for others' intellectual property, you must give credit where it is due. Respect the intellectual property of others - authors, artists, creators, producers - by paraphrasing and citing your sources.

 

Citation is the act of providing basic identifying information about a book, webpage, DVD, or other publication. Citations allow readers/viewers to find the full text of that publication.

 

Citation Style refers to the specific details of a citation, how it is ordered and formatted including punctuation. Common styles include MLA, APA, and Chicago.

 

Bibliography is a list of citations. When the bibliography refers articles, books, websites, videos, etc. that are mentioned in a paper, the bibliography is called a Works Cited (MLA style) or References (APA style).

 

Annotated Bibliography is a list of citations accompanied by commentary that may describe or summarize the content and quality of the source. Often the Annotated Bibliography includes a statement about the source’s relative usefulness in addressing the thesis or focus of a paper.

 

Parenthetical Citations are citations found in the body of your paper that refer to the full citation listed in your Works Cited. Parenthetical or in-text citations immediately clarify for readers the source of the information.

MLA Citation Help

WCC Writing Center

For tutoring assistance in Writing in all disciplines.
EmailAskatutor-wri@sunywcc.edu

Celebrating 75 Years of Excellence!

Westchester Community College provides accessible, high quality and affordable education to meet the needs of our diverse community. We are committed to student success, academic excellence, workforce development, economic development and lifelong learning.

MyWCC
Facebook Facebook Facebook Facebook Facebook

75 Grasslands Road
Valhalla, NY 10595
Tel: (914) 606-6600