Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Literary Works on a Theme
This section contains resources to help you find fiction or other creative works about a theme or of a particular genre - as opposed to criticism of literature or information about creative works.
These can be very tricky searches to conduct. Try more than one resource.
Fiction Finders (Novels/Short Stories/Poems) - On the Web
World Cat Genres
Click on a genre to see top authors, top books, and sub-genres. WorldCat will tell you if WCC owns the book you're looking at.
An online community of readers making recommendations. Browse by genre.
A social book-sharing website. Do a tag search for a word or phrase (anything from "artificial intelligence fiction") to see books users have tagged with those words.
What Should I Read Next?
A Reader's Advisory Tool.
Allows users to look up an author and see related authors, publishers, and and other connections.
1000 Novels Everyone Must Read
The Guardian series - organized by genre.
Extensive collection of full text poetry and secondary criticism.
Internet Archive - Books
A crowd sourced network of content shared by Libraries. Books may be borrowed digitally.
Short Stories for Students by
Publication Date: 2006-05-25
Useful first resource for short story research. Contains criticism on many popular and lesser titles and authors.
Drama - Spoken Word
Drama for Students by
Call Number: GVRL REFERENCE BOOK
Publication Date: 1997
This volume features coverage of 15 plays most frequently studied in literature classes. Each entry includes: an overview of the play; a brief biography of the playwright; a discussion of the play's principal themes; and excerpted critical commentary on various facets of the play.
Collections of museum images and associated data for educational use. Includes slide and demonstration tools for research and teaching purposes.
Film & Video
Vimeo is a smaller free streaming platform that is used by creative artists and small film producers.
Short of the Week
An online collection of recent short films.
PBS Video Shorts
Since 1988, POV has showcased vido docs and shorts on PBS.
Films on Demand World Cinema Collection
Includes the best of the silent era, groundbreaking international directors, American and European masterpieces from the mid-20th century, award-winning contemporary films from Global Lens, and films from Africa and the African diaspora from ArtMattan Productions.