Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
- Research poets and poetry in region that you selected in Assignment 1.
- Identify five poets for your region and select one poem of each poet that is of a geographic nature. Analyze what makes them geographic by relating the poems to class and book content as well as your article. Submit the poems with a paragraph to explain what is geographic. You may choose any combination of countries within your selected geographic region.
- Using one of the articles you analyzed for Assignment 1 and your reading of poetry from your chosen region, compose a poem of two to three four-line stanzas based on the content of one of your articles. Your original poem should provide as much detail from the article and as much intensity of emotion as possible
- Physical geography and environmental issues
- Population and settlement characteristics
- Cultural patterns
- Geopolitical framework
- Economic and social developments
- Challenges and opportunities facing your region
LitFinder covers all time periods and contains a wealth of primary literature content. This includes approximately 140,000 full-text poems, 800,000 poem citations and excerpts, 7,100 full-text short stories and novels, 3,800 full-text essays, 2,000 full-text speeches and 1,700 full-text plays. It also includes biographies, work summaries, photographs and a glossary.
Poetry and Places
Blog "Sharing our travel adventures and celebrating our planet…through poetry." No simple search to check origins of poets.
Poetry for Students (GVRL)
Summary: Features discussion and analysis of poems of all time periods, nations, and cultures. Provides an overview of the poem and discussion of its principal themes, images, form and construction.
Use the Search Within /Tools on the right to find poems from your country. If link does not work, use Gale Virtual Reference Library under DATABASES.
The easiest way to find full-text poetry by country it to use LIT FINDER. Use [Country} Poetry in the keyword search. Choose the PRIMARY SOURCES tab in the right hand column for poems and other literary works. Make sure to check FULL TEXT.
Check to confirm the poet is from your intended country! e.g. Spanish (language) poetry covers more than just poetry from Spain.