Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
If you have any trouble using or accessing the databases, you should feel free contact me or another librarian. See the Get Help tab for information on different ways to contact us.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Online access to many of the journals published by Elsevier science publishing. Subject coverage includes the natural and social sciences.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
Full-text collection of American Psychological Association (APA) journals.
SocIndex This link opens in a new window
The world's most comprehensive sociology research database. More than 2,066,400 records with subject headings from a 19,750+ term sociological thesaurus. Also contains informative abstracts for more than 1,200 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as 1895.
Education Source This link opens in a new window
Authoritative, full-text database for education scholarship, covers topics from early childhood education to parent-teacher relations.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes 570 full-text journals and 48 books. The database also includes full-text content from relevant magazines and health reports. Coverage is particularly strong in child & adolescent psychology and various areas of counseling.
What Are Databases?
Databases provide access to articles from credible, well-known newspapers, magazines and journals. The library pays a subscription fee for several general and subject-specific databases for students and faculty to use.
Some databases contain scholarly content, like academic journals on a specific subject, and others contain articles from popular magazines such as Newsweek or Forbes. Databases may contain a mixture of content from both scholarly and popular sources.
Fortunately, most databases allow you to separate out only scholarly or peer-reviewed articles. Usually this involves clicking a box next to the term, limit to scholarly articles or limit search to peer-review. The screen shots below show you how to find those boxes.
EBSCOhost: The red arrow shows you where the box you need to check is located.