Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What is a Databse?
What is a database?
Databases are electronic catalogs that contain published information in the form of citations, abstracts, or the full text of documents. These documents can be from magazines, newspapers, scholarly, academic journals, ebooks, book chapters or essays. Some databases cover multiple subjects, while others are specific to a certain field. They are indexed by subject terms or keywords for easy retrieval.
Before beginning your search, identify key words or concepts relevant to your topic. You may want to consult a thesaurus to find terms with similar meanings that can help locate additional articles. Ensure your spelling is correct. As you perform searches take note of subject terms and keywords in useful articles. These can be used in subsequent searches to locate additional items. Don't hesitate to use the help available within the database. Here is where you can find it in the Academic Search Complete database (as well as other EBSCOhost databases):
Academic Search Complete
A general database covering many areas of academic study. Find articles from over 7,000 full-text periodicals and abstracts from more than 11,000 additional journals.
Archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
A collection of full-text encyclopedias and handbooks on a variety of subjects.
Opposing Viewpoints In Context
Covers current social issues. Includes viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Includes 570 full-text journals and 48 books. The database also includes full-text content from relevant magazines and health reports. Coverage is particularly strong in child & adolescent psychology and various areas of counseling.
Social Sciences Full Text
Includes Full-text articles from 360 journals dating as far back as 1972 and indexing for more than 750 periodicals, over 510 of which are peer-reviewed. Topics include Addiction Studies, Anthropology, Communications, Economics, Ethics, Family Studies, Gender Studies, International Relations, Law, Mass Media, Minority Studies, Political Science, Psychology, Public Welfare, Social Work and Urban Studies.