Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Prof. Ricci - English 101 - Summer 2018 - Walmart: MLA 8

Citation Tools

Online MLA style resources:

 


The Library offers a premium version of the citation software program EasyBib Academic. For help with EasyBib, refer to our guide “EASYBIB for Citations“.
(You will need to log in with your MyWCC User ID and password when accessing from off campus.)

Why We Cite

When you write a research paper, you use information and facts from a variety of resources to support your own ideas to develop new ones. You cite these sources for the following reasons:

To Give Credit
Giving credit to the original source acknowledges experts and scholars for their contribution. In some fields, citations can lead to career advancement.

To Establish Credibility
Citations build credibility because they demonstrate how much you have read and learned, including sometimes from competing and multiple viewpoints. It will be clear to your reader that your ideas are well supported. 

To Help the Reader
Citations can guide your readers to more information about your topic. They can also offer in that they suggest clues to the larger conversation in which your work is positioned. 

To Participate in the Conversation
Your work contributes to ongoing intellectual conversations. 

9 Core Elements

9 Common Core Elements

Rather than give strict format rules for different types of sources, the 8th edition of the MLA Handbook identifies 9 "core elements" common to most sources and provides flexible guidelines on how to reference them in your Works Cited list.

(Commas separate details of the "container" or master work until all details are exhausted.)

BASIC MODEL OF A CITATION (to be set in Times New Roman, 12 Pt font, double spaced, with a "hanging indent")

NOTE: A "Container" is a larger work that can take the form of a book/e-books, performance, journal, magazine or newspaper, as well a website, search engine or database. Cite the container if you used the whole work.

 

Elements of Citation

Whenever you use a citation style, you will be governed by that style in three ways:

  1. The general format of the paper. This includes margins, font, page numbers, line spacing, titles, headings, etc. (See an Example Paper in MLA format here.)
     
  2. The bibliography. The bibliography is the cumulative list of all sources used in your research. In MLA, this is called the Works Cited list.
     
  3. Parenthetical (or In-Text) references. Citing sources within the body of your paper let's your reader know you are incorporating someone else's words/research/ideas.

Nested Containers

First Container -- Title of larger or self-contained work

E.g.: Book, Journal, Newspaper, Magazine, Website

 

Second Container* -- Name of service or platform that serves up the work. *Use if applicable

E.g.: Database, Streaming Service, Social Media Platform, Website (sometimes); Book Collection or Series 
 

Citing the Film

Greenwald, Robert, director. Walmart: The High Cost of Low Price, Brave New Films, 2005.

Creating a Hanging Indent in Microsoft Word

Celebrating 75 Years of Excellence!

Westchester Community College provides accessible, high quality and affordable education to meet the needs of our diverse community. We are committed to student success, academic excellence, workforce development, economic development and lifelong learning.

MyWCC
Facebook Facebook Facebook Facebook Facebook

75 Grasslands Road
Valhalla, NY 10595
Tel: (914) 606-6600