Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Prof. Ricci - English 101 - Summer 2018 - Walmart: Searching for Articles

Databases

Full text from 1980 - present.
 
Full-text, 1984-present.
 
A collection of thousands of national, international, state and local newspapers with holdings dating from 1980 to the present.
 
Local, regional and national newspapers.
 
 
More than 14,000 titles, including more than 9,000 peer-reviewed journals and more than 6,000 in full text. Coverage of hard sciences, medicine, engineering and business. Full text for periodicals covered in major bibliographic resources such as CINAHL, BIOSIS, MLS, PsycInfo, ERIC, EconLit, RILM and others.
 
 
A general database covering many areas of academic study. Find articles from over 7,000 full-text periodicals and abstracts from more than 11,000 additional journals.
 
 
Newspaper Source Plus
 
Cover-to-cover full text for 185 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, including Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, The Times (London), Toronto Star, etc.
 
U.S. and world news from newspapers and journals. Business, legal, medical news. Laws and regulations. Foreign language news sources.
 

Tips

1) Make sure you search for articles no older than 2005.  The Film Walmart: The High Cost of Living was released in 2005. 

2) When you do your initial search put Walmart or Wal-mart in the first search box.  Some articles use Walmart and some use Wal-mart.  By putting OR between the two you'll get both.

3) Most databases will have a Walmart subject heading,   to help focus your results.  Look for the heading wal-mart stores inc in the subject options.

 4) If you are getting too many results look to limit your results with Walmart subject limter.   use the filed search option to search the keyword walmart in the title of articles.  This will narrow your results even more than searching by subject

Background Information on Walmart


Company Profile of Wal-Mart from Business Insights: Essentials


Walmart Stores from Gale Encyclopedia of U.S. Economic History via the Gale Virtual Reference Library

 

 

Celebrating 75 Years of Excellence!

Westchester Community College provides accessible, high quality and affordable education to meet the needs of our diverse community. We are committed to student success, academic excellence, workforce development, economic development and lifelong learning.

MyWCC
Facebook Facebook Facebook Facebook Facebook

75 Grasslands Road
Valhalla, NY 10595
Tel: (914) 606-6600