Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

AC 102 Ethics in Addiction Counseling - Jazwinski: Finding Peer-Reviewed Articles

This guide will help students in Prof. Jazwinski's AC 102 class find scholarly resources about ethical issues in counseling.

Recommended Databases

If you have any trouble using or accessing the databases, you should feel free contact me or another librarian. See the Get Help tab for information on different ways to contact us.

Database Search Help

WCC Library subscribes to a wide range of databases. You must be a current student, staff, or faculty member to use these databases. (See the Work Off-Campus tab above.)  You may view complete listing of the library's databases or click on the links below to search databases that are recommended for your Term Project. 

Remember to apply the Search Strategies outlined under the Search Strategy tab. Do not type in whole sentences.

Enter your keywords in the search boxes. Before running your search, set your limiters using the limiter boxes below (use the dropdowns under this tab to see how to set your search parameters, view your results and save and send just the abstract or the entire article.)

Seriously, I can't find anything!

We recommend searching databases with the 'full-text' box checked so that your results list only contains articles that are available through the database directly. You will find some assignments are more difficult than others to get just the right resources for and you may need to look outside what WCC is able to offer.

If you have searched multiple times, in multiple databases and worked with the librarian you may want to search for articles not held by WCC. This will require you to leave enough time to have the item you need copied and sent from another institution (via Interlibrary Loan).

Going back to the same databases you have searched before DO NOT CHECK the 'full-text' box and use the same keywords you had been using before. You will see the same full-text articles you did in your earlier searches, but also those that the database does not have the rights to reproduce. These are marked with a "Get Full Text" button.

Read the abstracts and see if any of these new articles could help you. If so, print or email the abstract to save the article information. Next, once your article is approved, order a copy of the article from Interlibrary Loan (there is no need to order an article if you are not sure you can use it).


To order the article: From the library home page, click on the Interlibrary Loan link (under the Helpful Links heading) and then choose Article. Fill out your contact information and all the information you have about the article.

Note: On the form the Publication Title is first - this is the name of the journal which is often in the SOURCE field on your article citation page. Then fill out the article title and the rest of the information. If you do not fill out all the fields, the librarian will not be able to locate your article for you. Depending on what library holds the journal you need it could take a week or more to recieve a copy of your article.

Celebrating 75 Years of Excellence!

Westchester Community College provides accessible, high quality and affordable education to meet the needs of our diverse community. We are committed to student success, academic excellence, workforce development, economic development and lifelong learning.

MyWCC
Facebook Facebook Facebook Facebook Facebook

75 Grasslands Road
Valhalla, NY 10595
Tel: (914) 606-6600