Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

AC 203 Addiction Counseling Models - Jazwinski: Format Your Term Project

This guide will help students in AC203 locate scholarly information on addiction counseling models.

Term Project submissions

Be sure to include all of the information required: Big Question, citation, abstract and your summary. 

How To Copy and Paste the Citation and Abstract into Word

Each of your THREE term projects will include the complete MLA8 formatted citation of ONE article followed by the abstract. You will then type your summary of the article below the citation and abstract. Later in the semester you will write a short paper discussing the research of all three articles together and present it to the class.

The easiest way to get the citation and abstract is by copying the information from the database into your Word doc. Go into your email,  find the article record (you remembered to email yourself the article, yes?) and click on the link to go back to the article in the database - if you are off-campus you will need to log in with your MyWCC userID and password.

 

Open a Word Document (under Start menu > All Programs > ?College Applications (depending on your computer)

From the article record in the database, click on the CITE button and scroll to MLA. Copy (highlight then hit ctrl + c):

Paste (ctrl + V) into your Word doc:

THE DATABASE NAME IS INCORRECT. Go back to the citation page to find the correct database name.

Change EBSCOhost to the correct database name based on what the other citations have. The database name should be in ITALICS.

 


Did your citation look like this?

Highlight the citation and click NO SPACING in the toolbar to clear the green background. Make sure the Journal Title and Database Name are still italicized and follow the rest of the instructions to continue formatting in MLA style.


This is not formatted correctly, so highlight the entire citation and click on the arrow at the bottom of the Paragraph section of the WordToolbar. Choose Hanging under SPECIAL and Double under LINE SPACING and click OK.

(Note: GoogleDocs does not have a hanging indent function, but a workaround can be found at the following link: http://alicekeeler.com/2015/05/28/google-docs-create-a-hanging-indent/ though I have not tried it.).

Ta daa! You now have a pretty MLA formatted citation.

Go back to the article citation and scroll down to the abstract. Highlight and copy like before.

and paste that into your Word doc under the citation for your article.

 

Repeat for Term Projects two and three. Dont forget to add your topic (and summary!). Then upload under the ASSIGNMENTS tab in your course shell.

Later in the semester, combining information from the term project articles and additional scholarly sources, will present on your topic to your classmates.

Celebrating 75 Years of Excellence!

Westchester Community College provides accessible, high quality and affordable education to meet the needs of our diverse community. We are committed to student success, academic excellence, workforce development, economic development and lifelong learning.

MyWCC
Facebook Facebook Facebook Facebook Facebook

75 Grasslands Road
Valhalla, NY 10595
Tel: (914) 606-6600