Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

AC 203 Addiction Counseling Models - Jazwinski: Citing and Plagiarism

This guide will help students in AC203 locate scholarly information on addiction counseling models.

MLA8 Citation Examples

You are responsible for the accuracy of citations on your Works Cited page. Double check database names, capitalization and formatting when you copy + paste citations. *Currently some databases on the EBSCO platform are not adding the correct database names, EBSCO is NOT the name of a database. The database name appears over the search boxes.

Online sources: Include the URL (minus http://) OR the DOI number if given.

 

Article in a library database:

Guilmette, Thomas J., Laurie A. Malia, and Michael D. McQuiggan. "Concussion understanding and management among New England high school football coaches." Brain Injury, vol. 21 no. 10, 2007, pp. 1039-1047. Academic Search Complete, lib-proxy.sunywcc.edu:2061/login.aspx?direct=true&db=a9h&AN=26705688&site=ehost-live. 

In-Text Citation: (Guilmette, Malia and McQuiggan 1045)


Article on a website:

"Public Agrees on Obesity's Impact, Not Government's Role." Pew Research Center, 12 Nov. 2013, www.people-press.org/2013/11/12/public-agrees-on-obesitys-impact-not-governments-role/. Accessed 20 March 2017.

In-Text Citation: ("Obesity's Impact")


Print Book: 

Ronson, Jon. So You've Been Publicly Shamed. Riverhead Books, 2015.

In-Text Citation: (Ronson 62)


Electronic Book in a library database:

Ricke, LaCrystal D. The Impact of Youtube on U.S. Politics. Lexington Books, 2014. ebrary, lib-proxy.sunywcc.edu:2909/lib/sunywcc-ebooks/detail.action?docID=1809830.

In-Text Citation: (Ricke 67)


Video Source:

Particlefever. Directed by Mark A. Levinson, produced by Mark A. Levinson, Andrea Miller, Carla Solomon and  David E. Kaplan, Ro*Co Films Educational, 2014.

In-Text Citation: (Levinson, Particlefever)


Statistical Table:

U.S. Census Bureau. "HI:01: Health Insurance Coverage Status and Type of Status by Selected Characteristics, 2015." Current Population Surveys for Health Insurance Coverage, 25 August 2016. www.census.gov/data/tables/time-series/demo/income-poverty/cps-hi/hi-01.html. Accessed 20 March 2017.

In-Text Citation: ("Current Population Survey" Table 7)

 

Additional help on citing online sources

If you are unsure of how to cite your resource,  ask a librarian for help. See the help tab for library hours and contact information.

WCC Writing Center

While the librarians can help you find sources for your paper, visit the Writing Center (part of the Academic Support Center) for help with writing and organizing your paper.

Call them at (914) 606-7853 to make an appointment.

Avoid Plagiarism

Plagiarism occurs when you use another person's verbal or written words or text in your own work without appropriately documenting the source of the borrowed words or text. The borrowed text could come from a variety of places, such as a book, a newspaper, a magazine, a website, or even another student's paper.

The WCC Academic Honesty Policy states:

PLAGIARISM
Plagiarism is the act of presenting another person’s ideas, research, or writing as your own.  Examples include:

  1. Copying another person’s actual words without both the use of quotations and documentation.

  2. Presenting another person’s ideas or theories in your own words without documentation.

  3. Using information that is not considered common knowledge without acknowledging the source.

  4. Using a paper writing “service” or having a friend write the paper for you.

 

Note:  The guidelines that define plagiarism also apply to information secured on internet websites.  Internet references must specify precisely where the information was obtained and where it can be found. 

You may think that citing another author’s work will lower your grade.  In some unusual cases this may be true, if your instructor has indicated that you must write your paper without reading additional material.  But in fact, as you progress in your studies, you will be expected to show that you are familiar with important work in your field and can use this work to further your thinking.  Your professors write this kind of paper all the time.  The key to avoiding plagiarism is that you show clearly where your own thinking ends and someone else’s begins.

 

No matter where the text comes from, it must be documented accurately. Accurate documentation means that you must follow the MLA (Modern Language Association) or APA (American Psychological Association) rules for documentation.

Why is Citing Important?

Citing Your Sources

You can use MLA OR APA style for your paper.

When you are ready to cite the sources you have used for your research, visit the library's homepage and click MLA or APA under the Citation heading  for the guide prepared by the library. It will offer example citations for the most common source types.  

If you need help, ask a librarian or submit your question to Ask us anything!

Many of the databases are provided through the EBSCO platform. EBSCO is not the name of a database. Look for the name above the search box to use in your citations.

Additional APA Citation Help

The above video will show you how to set up your paper in APA format in Word (how to insert a running page header etc).

Celebrating 75 Years of Excellence!

Westchester Community College provides accessible, high quality and affordable education to meet the needs of our diverse community. We are committed to student success, academic excellence, workforce development, economic development and lifelong learning.

MyWCC
Facebook Facebook Facebook Facebook Facebook

75 Grasslands Road
Valhalla, NY 10595
Tel: (914) 606-6600