When searching the databases for articles, do not type in whole sentences.
Use the KEYWORDS of your topic when searching for sources.
e.g. search MEPS AND Insurance AND Prescriptions
Think of other terms that can be used to describe the event you are researching and try those also: Health Insurance, Health Care Coverage, Co-Pays, Deductibles, Out-of-Pocket Costs, Medical Cost, Medical Expenditures, Medicaid, Medicare, Medigap
Try using narrower or broader terms:
Prescriptions, Drugs, Medications, Medicine etc.
Be careful of words with multiple meanings, use alternate or additional words to clarify:
(e.g. Viking (Norse warrior); Viking (moon lander); Viking (football team); Viking (WCC student newspaper)
You might need to search multiple times in a single database before deciding it does not have any useful articles.
Use the asterisk * to truncate words and widen your search. Child* will search for Child, Children and Childhood.
Use quotation marks to keep phrases together: e.g. "Prescription Drugs"
e.g. search "Medical Expenditure Panel Survey" AND Co-pays
or MEPS AND Insurance AND Prescription*
or "Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality" AND Coverage AND Medication
Try your search terms in different combinations to get the greatest number of results.
WCC Library subscribes to a wide range of databases. You must be a current student, staff, or faculty member to use these databases. (See the Work Off-Campus tab above.) You may view a complete listing of the library's databases or click on the links on the left to search databases that are recommended for your Term Project.
Remember to apply the Search Strategies outlined under the Search Strategy tab. Do not type in whole sentences.
Enter your keywords in the search boxes. Before running your search, set your limiters using the limiter boxes below (use the dropdowns under this tab to see how to set your search parameters, view your results and save and send just the abstract or the entire article.)
Use the tips under the Search Strategy tab to develop a list of keywords to search. Do not type in whole sentences.
If you are off campus, you will need to log-in using your MyWCC username and password.