There are two formats of Chicago Style citations (Author/Date and Notes and Bibliography). The library databases and catalog may not offer the option needed for this assignment (Notes and Bibliography). There are slight differences between them.
Academic Search Complete Chicago Style Citation: Author/Date:
Notes and Bibliography Style:
Roman, Richard and Edur Velasco Arregui. "1810, 1920, 2010 and Mexican Labor." Against the Current 25, no 5 (2010): 23-26. Academic Search Complete.
You need to cite where your information came from in the body of your paper (via footnotes) AND on a Reference List at the end.
For Chicago/Turabian format you will be incorporating footnotes in the body of your paper. For the FIRST use of a source, you will use a full citation and for every citation afterwards a shortened citation. *Notice that there are slight differences between the full footnote citation format and the References List citation (Footnote: First name first vs. Reference: Last name first; Footnote: commas vs Reference periods).
For note numbers: Use either a number + period in regular case OR a superscript number with no period (pick one format and stick with it).
e.g.
2. Manjoo, “Snap.”
2 Manjoo, “Snap.”
"Journal articles often list many authors, especially in the sciences. If there are four or more authors, list up to ten in the bibliography; in a note, list only the first, followed by et al. (“and others”). For more than ten authors, list the first seven in the bibliography, followed by et al. "
First citation:
1 FirstName MiddleName LastName, "Full Article Title in Quotes," Journal Name in Italics vol#, no. no# (year): page#, doi: # OR library database name.
2 Mike J. Crawford, et al., "Selecting Outcome Measures in Mental Health: The Views of Service Users," Journal of Mental Health 20, no. 4 (2011): 340, doi: 10.3109/09638237.2011.577114.
3 Peter LaSalle, “Conundrum: A Story about Reading,” New England Review 38, no. 1 (2017): 95, Project MUSE.
Shortened citation (2nd citation and all following citations):
1 LastName, "Shortened Title," page#.
2 Crawford, "Selecting Outcome Measures," 343.
3 LaSalle, "Conundrum," 101.
Bibliography *note some library databases use the author/date system, which is slightly different. See above.
LastName, FirstName MiddleName. "Full Article Title in Quotes." Journal Name in Italics vol#, no. no# (year): firstpage#-lastpage#. doi: # OR library database name.
Crawford, Mike J., Dan Robotham, Lavanya Thana, Sue Patterson, Tim Weaver, Rosemary Barber, Til Wykes, and Diana Rose. "Selecting Outcome Measures in Mental Health: The Views of Service Users." Journal of Mental Health 20, no. 4 (2011): 336-346. doi: 10.3109/09638237.2011.577114.
LaSalle, Peter. “Conundrum: A Story about Reading.” New England Review 38, no. 1 (2017): 95–109. Project MUSE.
Online News Source: "Articles from newspapers or news sites, magazines, blogs, and the like"
First Citation
1 FirstName LastName, “Full Article Title in Quotes,” Website name in Italics, Month day, year, URL.
2 Farhad Manjoo, “Snap Makes a Bet on the Cultural Supremacy of the Camera,” New York Times, March 8, 2017, https://www.nytimes.com/2017/03/08/technology/snap-makes-a-bet-on-the-cultural-supremacy-of-the-camera.html.
Shortened citation (2nd citation and all following citations):
1 LastName, "Shortened article."
2 Manjoo, “Snap.”
Bibliography
LastName, FirstName MiddleName. “Article Title in Quotes.” Website in Italics, Month Day, Year. URL.
Manjoo, Farhad. “Snap Makes a Bet on the Cultural Supremacy of the Camera.” New York Times, March 8, 2017. https://www.nytimes.com/2017/03/08/technology/snap-makes-a-bet-on-the-cultural-supremacy-of-the-camera.html.
For online sources with no date, include an access date before the URL.
For non-news websites do not italicize the website name.
3 FirstName MiddleName LastName, “Full Article Title in Quotes," Website name, accessed Month day, year, URL.
3 “Balkan Romani, ”Endangered Languages, Alliance for Linguistic Diversity," accessed June 10, 2016, http://www.endangeredlanguages.com/lang/5342.
Bibliography
“Balkan Romani.” Endangered Languages, Alliance for Linguistic Diversity. Accessed June 10, 2016. http://www.endangeredlanguages.com/lang/5342.
Book
First Citation
1 FirstName MiddleName LastName and FirstName MiddleName LastName, Full Book Title in Itialics (PublisherCity: Publisher Name, Year), page#.
2 Sharon Sassler and Amanda Jayne Miller, Cohabitation Nation: Gender, Class, and the Remaking of Relationships (Oakland: University of California Press, 2017), 114.
Shortened citation (2nd citation and all following citations):
1 LastName and LastName, Shortened Title, page#.
2 Sassler and Miller, Cohabitation Nation, 205.
Bibliography
LastName, FirstName MiddleName, and FirstName MiddleName LastName. Full Book Title in Italics. PublisherCity: Publisher Name, Year
Sassler, Sharon, and Amanda Jayne Miller. Cohabitation Nation: Gender, Class, and the Remaking of Relationships. Oakland: University of California Press, 2017.
Chapter in a Book
First Citation
1 FirstName Middle LastName, “Chapter Title in Quotes,” in Book Title in Italics ed. EditorFirstName Lastname (PublisherCity: Publisher Name, Year), page#.
2 Henry David Thoreau, “Walking,” in The Making of the American Essay, ed. John D’Agata (Minneapolis: Graywolf Press, 2016), 177–78.
Shortened citation (2nd citation and all following citations):
1 LastName, “Short Title,” page#.
2 Thoreau, “Walking,” 182.
Bibliography
LastName, FirstName MiddleName “Chapter Title in Quotes.” In Book Title in Italics, edited by First LastNameofEditor, firstpage#–lastpage#ofChapter. PublisherCity: Publisher Name, Year.
Thoreau, Henry David. “Walking.” In The Making of the American Essay, edited by John D’Agata, 167–95. Minneapolis: Graywolf Press, 2016.
Film or Video
First Citation (use time stamp)
1 Sirio Canós-Donnay, "The underappreciated archeological history of Africa," TEDx Talks, June 15, 2015, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CBMretoTFJg, 0:09:10.
Shortened Citation
2 Canós-Donnay, 0:06:43.
Bibliography
Canós-Donnay, Sirio. "The underappreciated archeological history of Africa." TEDx video, 10:18. June 15, 2015. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CBMretoTFJg,
Television Program
First Citation (use time stamp)
1 Africa's Great Civilizations, part 1, "Origins," hosted by Henry Louis Gates, November 11, 2017, https://fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=98422&xtid=144350, 0:35:43.
Shortened Citation
2 Africa's Great Civilizations, 0:35:43.
Bibliography
Africa's Great Civilizations, part 1, "Origins." Hosted by Henry Louis Gates, Jr. November 11, 2017. https://fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=98422&xtid=144350.
Plagiarism occurs when you use another person's verbal or written words or text in your own work without appropriately documenting the source of the borrowed words or text. The borrowed text could come from a variety of places, such as a book, a newspaper, a magazine, a website, or even another student's paper.
The WCC Academic Honesty Policy states:
PLAGIARISM
Plagiarism is the act of presenting another person’s ideas, research, or writing as your own. Examples include:
Copying another person’s actual words without both the use of quotations and documentation.
Presenting another person’s ideas or theories in your own words without documentation.
Using information that is not considered common knowledge without acknowledging the source.
Using a paper writing “service” or having a friend write the paper for you.
Note: The guidelines that define plagiarism also apply to information secured on internet websites. Internet references must specify precisely where the information was obtained and where it can be found.
You may think that citing another author’s work will lower your grade. In some unusual cases this may be true, if your instructor has indicated that you must write your paper without reading additional material. But in fact, as you progress in your studies, you will be expected to show that you are familiar with important work in your field and can use this work to further your thinking. Your professors write this kind of paper all the time. The key to avoiding plagiarism is that you show clearly where your own thinking ends and someone else’s begins.
No matter where the text comes from, it must be documented accurately. Accurate documentation means that you must follow the MLA (Modern Language Association) or APA (American Psychological Association) rules for documentation.
You will be using CHICAGO STYLE for your paper, also referred to as Turabian, as Kate Turabian authored the popular style guide manual (A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses and Dissertations) used by students.
If you need help, ask a librarian or submit your question to Ask us anything!
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, Ninth Edition by
When Kate L. Turabian first put her famous guidelines to paper, she could hardly have imagined the world in which today's students would be conducting research. Yet while the ways in which we research and compose papers may have changed, the fundamentals remain the same: writers need to have a strong research question, construct an evidence-based argument, cite their sources, and structure their work in a logical way. A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations--also known as "Turabian"--remains one of the most popular books for writers because of its timeless focus on achieving these goals. This new edition filters decades of expertise into modern standards. While previous editions incorporated digital forms of research and writing, this edition goes even further to build information literacy, recognizing that most students will be doing their work largely or entirely online and on screens. Chapters include updated advice on finding, evaluating, and citing a wide range of digital sources and also recognize the evolving use of software for citation management, graphics, and paper format and submission. The ninth edition is fully aligned with the recently released Chicago Manual of Style, 17th edition, as well as with the latest edition of The Craft of Research. Teachers and users of the previous editions will recognize the familiar three-part structure. Part 1 covers every step of the research and writing process, including drafting and revising. Part 2 offers a comprehensive guide to Chicago's two methods of source citation: notes-bibliography and author-date. Part 3 gets into matters of editorial style and the correct way to present quotations and visual material. A Manual for Writers also covers an issue familiar to writers of all levels: how to conquer the fear of tackling a major writing project. Through eight decades and millions of copies, A Manual for Writers has helped generations shape their ideas into compelling research papers. This new edition will continue to be the gold standard for college and graduate students in virtually all academic disciplines.
Superscript numbers are NOT followed by a period. Footnotes are inserted AFTER the final period in the sentence.
Microsoft WORD : Use the FOOTNOTE function under REFERENCE > INSERT FOOTNOTE. This will automatically insert footnotes in order and bring you down to the note section to add the note.
GOOGLE DOCS
To insert footnote. INSERT > FOOTNOTE. This will automatically insert footnotes in order and bring you down to the note section to add the note.
