Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Prof. Mathews - ENG101 - Fall 2021

Your Assignment

An annotated bibliography is a document that lists sources on a particular topic/question and offers a brief discussion of each source, summarizing that source and discussing how it connects to the other sources and to the researcher’s own thinking-in-progress, including their working thesis.

Why Write an Annotated Bibliography?

Creating an annotated bibliography gives structure and purpose to the (otherwise messy) research process. Writing an annotated bibliography requires you, the researcher to read, think about and analyze each of your sources, so that you are clear about how you will use them in your article.

What are the Components of an Annotated Bibliography? An Overview. This will be a paragraph or two in which you: Explain your topic, question and claim or working thesis (a “working” thesis is what your thesis would be if you were to write the paper right now. It’s called “working” because it might change) Summarize what you have found out so far from your sources what you still want/need to find out – and where you might look.

Then, list each of your sources in MLA format and, below EVERY source, write 1-2 paragraphs where you: Explain why this is a relevant and reliable source (you may find sources that are not relevant or reliable--but these are not worth listing in your annotated bibliography).

Summarize the basic claim of the source. What did “they” say? Use They Say, I Say templates in this summary. Respond to the source. What do “you” say? Use templates from Chapter 4 of They Say, I Say to agree, disagree, raise questions, etc. Plan. Explain how you will use this source in your research article. Be specific. Synthesize. Explain the way this work fits with--or challenges--other information you have about the topic. How do I create an MLA Citation?

How many sources do I need? You need enough sources to address your research question from a variety of perspectives. 5 is the minimum. Annotated Bibliographies with fewer than 5 sources will result in a 0. Those sources must have been published after 2014 and come from WCC’s Harold Drimmer Library Website.

Celebrating 75 Years of Excellence!

Westchester Community College provides accessible, high quality and affordable education to meet the needs of our diverse community. We are committed to student success, academic excellence, workforce development, economic development and lifelong learning.

MyWCC
Facebook Facebook Facebook Facebook Facebook

75 Grasslands Road
Valhalla, NY 10595
Tel: (914) 606-6600