Skip to Main Content

Prof. Mammen - Eng. 101 FALL 2022: Citation: Why Cite? / Elements of an MLA 9 Citation

Common Elements of a Citation

9 Common Core Elements

Rather than give strict format rules for different types of sources, the 8th edition of the MLA Handbook identifies 9 "core elements" common to most sources and provides flexible guidelines on how to reference them in your Works Cited list.

https://s3.amazonaws.com/libapps/accounts/1670/images/MLA_8th_large.JPG

(Commas separate details of the "container" or master work until all details are exhausted.)

Why We Cite

‚ÄčWhen you write a research paper, you use information and facts from a variety of resources to support your own ideas to develop new ones. You cite these sources for the following reasons:

  • To Give Credit
    Giving credit to the original source acknowledges experts and scholars for their contribution. In some fields, citations can lead to career advancement.
  • To Establish Credibility
    Citations build credibility because they demonstrate how much you have read and learned, including sometimes from competing and multiple viewpoints. It will be clear to your reader that your ideas are well supported. 
  • To Help the Reader
    Citations can guide your readers to more information about your topic. They can also offer in that they suggest clues to the larger conversation in which your work is positioned. 
  • To Participate in the Conversation
    Your work contributes to ongoing intellectual conversations. 

Example of Elements in a Citation

November 17, 201

Author Last Name, First Name.

Binfet, John-Tyler.

“Title of Article.”

“Reducing University Students’ Stress through a Drop-in Canine-Therapy Program.” 

Journal Title,

Journal of Mental Health,

volume, number,

vol. 27, no. 3,

publication date,

June 2018,

pages.

pp. 197–204. 

Database,

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collections,

doi or URL. 

doi:10.1080/09638237.2017.1417551.

Binfet, John-Tyler. “Reducing University Students’ Stress through a Drop-in

        Canine-Therapy Program.” Journal of Mental Health, vol. 27, no. 3, June 2018,

        pp. 197–204. Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collections,

       doi:10.1080/09638237.2017.1417551.

In-text (Binfet 199).

Citing Databases

Many of the databases are provided through the EBSCO platform. EBSCO is not the name of a database. Look for the name above the search box to use in your citations.

Incorrect:

Burgin, Shelley. “Sustainability as a Motive for Leisure-Time Gardening: A View from the ‘Veggie Patch.’” International Journal of Environmental Studies, vol. 75, no. 6, Dec. 2018, pp. 1000–1010. EBSCOhost, doi:10.1080/00207233.2018.1464277.

Correct:

Burgin, Shelley. “Sustainability as a Motive for Leisure-Time Gardening: A View from the ‘Veggie Patch.’” International Journal of Environmental Studies, vol. 75, no. 6, Dec. 2018, pp. 1000–1010. Academic Search Complete, doi:10.1080/00207233.2018.1464277.

Celebrating 75 Years of Excellence!

Westchester Community College provides accessible, high quality and affordable education to meet the needs of our diverse community. We are committed to student success, academic excellence, workforce development, economic development and lifelong learning.

MyWCC
Facebook Facebook Facebook Facebook Facebook

75 Grasslands Road
Valhalla, NY 10595
Tel: (914) 606-6600