Finding Articles - Prof. Courage: ENG102 - Essay #2 - Harold L. Drimmer Library Research Guides at Westchester Community College Library

Recommended Databases

Use the tips under the Search Strategy tab to develop a list of keywords to search. Do not type in whole sentences.

If you are off campus, you will need to log-in using your MyWCC username and password.

All Databases (Subject List)
Academic Search Complete Academic Search Complete, a multi-disciplinary database, provides full text for more than 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,700 journal titles.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window Archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window Includes Full-text articles from 360 journals dating as far back as 1972 and indexing for more than 750 periodicals, over 510 of which are peer-reviewed. Topics include Addiction Studies, Anthropology, Communications, Economics, Ethics, Family Studies, Gender Studies, International Relations, Law, Mass Media, Minority Studies, Political Science, Psychology, Public Welfare, Social Work and Urban Studies.
SocIndex This link opens in a new window The world's most comprehensive sociology research database. More than 2,066,400 records with subject headings from a 19,750+ term sociological thesaurus. Also contains informative abstracts for more than 1,200 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as 1895.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window More than 14,000 titles, including more than 9,000 peer-reviewed journals and more than 6,000 in full text. Coverage of hard sciences, medicine, engineering and business. Full text for periodicals covered in major bibliographic resources such as CINAHL, BIOSIS, MLS, PsycInfo, ERIC, EconLit, RILM and others.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window Covers world history from the 15th century forward. For history of the United States and Canada, use America History and Life.
America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for over 1,700 journals from 1955 to present, also provides full-text coverage of more than 230 journals and nearly 100 books.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window Includes 570 full-text journals and 48 books. The database also includes full-text content from relevant magazines and health reports. Coverage is particularly strong in child & adolescent psychology and various areas of counseling.

Database Search Help

WCC Library subscribes to a wide range of databases. You must be a current student, staff, or faculty member to use these databases. (See the Work Off-Campus tab above.) You may view a complete listing of the library's databases or click on the links on the left to search databases that are recommended for your Term Project.

Remember to apply the Search Strategies outlined under the Search Strategy tab. Do not type in whole sentences.

Enter your keywords in the search boxes. Before running your search, set your limiters using the limiter boxes below (use the dropdowns under this tab to see how to set your search parameters, view your results and save and send just the abstract or the entire article.)

Each of these sources has its own strengths and weaknesses.

Newspapers: For current, localized news. (e.g. Story about a specific football player who has suffered concussions.)

Magazines: Also for current topics, written for general readers. (e.g. Stories about concussions among NFL or college football players.)

Academic Journals: Longer research reports by specialists, written for other specialists. Can be quite technical. (e.g. Research about long term effects of multiple concussions on athletes.)

Recommended Databases : Literary Criticism

Short Stories for Students (via Gale EBooks)
A good place to get started

Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Biography, bibliography, and synopses of criticism of authors and their works, in all fields. Includes references and links to the original sources.
Gale EBooks This link opens in a new window
Includes Short Story Criticism and Short Stories for Students.
MLA International Bibliography with FT This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
LitFinder This link opens in a new window
LitFinder covers all time periods and contains a wealth of primary literature content. This includes approximately 140,000 full-text poems, 800,000 poem citations and excerpts, 7,100 full-text short stories and novels, 3,800 full-text essays, 2,000 full-text speeches and 1,700 full-text plays. It also includes biographies, work summaries, photographs and a glossary.
Literary Index This link opens in a new window

Prof. Courage: ENG102 - Essay #2: Finding Articles

Recommended Databases

Database Search Help

Recommended Databases : Literary Criticism

Celebrating 75 Years of Excellence!