Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What is a Databse?
What is a database?
Databases are electronic catalogs that contain published information in the form of citations, abstracts, or the full text of documents. These documents can be from magazines, newspapers, scholarly, academic journals, ebooks, book chapters or essays. Some databases cover multiple subjects, while others are specific to a certain field. They are indexed by subject terms or keywords for easy retrieval.
Before beginning your search, identify key words or concepts relevant to your topic. You may want to consult a thesaurus to find terms with similar meanings that can help locate additional articles. Ensure your spelling is correct. As you perform searches take note of subject terms and keywords in useful articles. These can be used in subsequent searches to locate additional items. Don't hesitate to use the help available within the database. Here is where you can find it in the Academic Search Complete database (as well as other EBSCOhost databases):
Academic Search Complete
A general database covering many areas of academic study. Find articles from over 7,000 full-text periodicals and abstracts from more than 11,000 additional journals.
Archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Includes 570 full-text journals and 48 books. The database also includes full-text content from relevant magazines and health reports. Coverage is particularly strong in child & adolescent psychology and various areas of counseling.
Full-text collection of American Psychological Association (APA) journals.
Psychology and related disciplines. Journal articles, dissertations, reports, book chapters, books, and other scholarly documents. Also includes links to full-text articles in PsycArticles - the APA journal collection.
Online access to many of the journals published by Elsevier science publishing. Subject coverage includes the natural and social sciences.
Films on Demand
Films on Demand is a streaming video platform offering a robust collection of streaming videos for educational use. In addition to a core collection of content from educational video producer Films Media Group, Films on Demand streams content from a growing list of quality documentary sources. For help in using some of the more advanced features of this product, such as building playlists and sharing, contact a librarian.